copyright, Kellscraft Studio
(Return to Web Text-ures)
THE LAST SLAVE QUARTERS STILL STANDING IN MASSACHUSETTS
The old Royall House in Medford, closely identified with Revolutionary history, among its many attractions can boast of possessing the last visible relic of slavery in this State. Although the house itself dates back to 1631, when it was deeded to Governor Winthrop, the building for slaves was not erected until 1732. Isaac Royall came into possession of the place at this time, and he found that such a building was necessary in order to house his twenty-five faithful slaves. The exterior of this interesting building has remained almost unchanged, and the old “out-kitchen,” as it was called, is still carefully preserved. The interior is now used by the caretaker and for meeting places for societies, while the basement, used as a dairy after the year 1800, now contains a steam heating plant for the main part of the establishment.
Isaac Royall, for whom the house is named, gave a tract of land to Harvard College, the proceeds of which were used in accordance with his will to found the Royall Professorship of Law, now the Harvard Law School. The Royall House was once the property of Francis Cabot Lowell, who was the founder of cotton manufacture in America.
The part of Medford upon which this house stands originally belonged to Charlestown.
ROYALL HOUSE, MEDFORD.
Slave quarters on the right.
Click the book image to continue to the next chapter